PlasInsight

Celanese global LCP price increases, October 2026

Celanese announced global LCP price increases on October 16, 2026, effective immediately or as contracts allow, with the largest adjustment assigned to non-E-grade product lines.

Peter Chui

Peter Chui

Senior Purchase Analyst · Oct 17, 2026 · 4 min read

Celanese global LCP price increases, October 2026

Close-up of stacked boxes containing coiled electrical wires - Pexels

Celanese Corporation (Celanese Corporation, a specialty materials and chemicals producer) announced global price increases for liquid crystal polymer products on October 16, 2026. The increases are effective immediately where contracts permit. Existing customer agreements remain the gate, so the announcement is a price instruction, not proof that every account will settle at the new level in October.

The adjustment is split by grade family and region. Vectra E-grades and Thermx receive the lower increase. Vectra A-grades, Vectra S-grades, other Vectra grades, Zenite, CoolPoly and MT-Grades receive the higher one. Celanese also says individual grades may face increases above the listed amounts. That clause matters to buyers: the published schedule is a regional starting point, not a universal invoice cap.

Close-up of a single liquid crystal polymer resin pellet sample - plascentral.com
Close-up of a single liquid crystal polymer resin pellet sample - plascentral.com

For the named product groups, the published changes are as follows:

Celanese LCP price increases, October 2026

Celanese LCP price increases, October 2026
Grade groupAsia ($/kg)Americas ($/lb)EMEA (€/kg)
Vectra E-grades and Thermx1 $/kg0.45 $/lb0.9 €/kg
Vectra A/S/other grades, Zenite, CoolPoly, MT-Grades3.5 $/kg1.59 $/lb3.15 €/kg
Product groupAsiaAmericasEMEA
Vectra E-grades and Thermx$1.00/kg$0.45/lb€0.90/kg
Vectra A-grades, S-grades, other Vectra, Zenite, CoolPoly and MT-Grades$3.50/kg$1.59/lb€3.15/kg

The table compares announced increases, not prevailing LCP prices. Celanese did not publish a base contract price, a delivered spot indication, or a regional index settlement with the notice. A buyer therefore cannot turn the announcement into an absolute market number without the applicable account price, grade and contract formula.

The grade split

The size difference is the clearest commercial signal in the notice. The increase for the second group is $3.50/kg in Asia against $1.00/kg for Vectra E-grades and Thermx. In the Americas, the corresponding increases are $1.59/lb and $0.45/lb. EMEA receives €3.15/kg for the larger group and €0.90/kg for the lower group.

View of a finished electronic connector molded from liquid crystal polymer - plascentral.com
View of a finished electronic connector molded from liquid crystal polymer - plascentral.com

That is not a single LCP market move. It is a differentiated attempt to recover cost by product family. Buyers purchasing Vectra A-grades, S-grades, Zenite, CoolPoly or MT-Grades should not use the E-grade adjustment as a proxy. Conversely, the larger increase does not establish that every Vectra formulation has the same exposure to feedstock or logistics cost.

The published units also prevent a clean cross-region ranking of the cash impact. Asia and EMEA are quoted per kilogram, while the Americas is quoted per pound. The announcement supplies no conversion or common base price. The regional figures should remain in their source units rather than being presented as an artificial global benchmark.

What the notice assigns to cost

Celanese attributes the action to continued LCP demand, higher feedstock and raw-material costs, disruptions in raw-material supply chains and logistics constraints. The company says the increases are needed to secure critical raw materials while maintaining product quality, innovation, technical support and reliable supply.

Polymer samples and equipment arranged on a laboratory bench for material testing - plascentral.com
Polymer samples and equipment arranged on a laboratory bench for material testing - plascentral.com

That makes the move feedstock- and supply-chain-led, with demand providing support rather than serving as a measured demand index. No feedstock contract, cost percentage, inventory figure or margin bridge accompanies the announcement. The notice establishes Celanese's stated cost rationale; it does not prove how much of any individual increase represents raw material, freight, conversion cost or margin recovery.

The distinction is contractual. A supplier announcement can set the requested change, but the final settlement still depends on customer terms. “Effective immediately or as customer contracts allow” leaves timing unpriced for accounts with notice periods, fixed-price windows or other adjustment language. October exposure therefore differs by contract, even where the product family and region are identical.

What buyers still need to pin down

A processor should ask for the exact grade, the current contract basis and the first invoice month affected. The product labels in the announcement cover multiple families, and Celanese warns that individual grades may be subject to higher increases. The announced regional amount is not enough to determine a buyer's net price.

There is also no published LCP benchmark in the notice against which to calculate a spread. The available comparison pages in the packet concern polycarbonate, not LCP, and do not provide a valid feedstock or substitute-resin benchmark for this settlement. Polycarbonate indications cannot stand in for LCP pricing, and a separate polymer's regional movement does not measure Celanese's LCP cost recovery.

The same discipline applies to the reported market reaction. Celanese shares were reported down 4.3% in after-hours trading after the announcement. That is an equity-market response, not evidence that LCP buyers rejected the increase, nor a measure of the polymer's contract settlement. It belongs outside the resin price calculation.

What remains unpriced is the realized increase by customer, grade and month. The announcement does not state how much volume sits in each product group, how many contracts can move immediately, or whether supply constraints will produce allocations, surcharges or higher grade-specific adjustments. It also does not disclose an LCP spot index that could confirm the pass-through.

For buyers, the usable number is therefore the announced regional increment attached to the named grade family, subject to the contract. The largest published move is the $3.50/kg increase in Asia for Vectra A-grades, S-grades, other Vectra grades, Zenite, CoolPoly and MT-Grades. The next check is not a polycarbonate page or an equity quote. It is the customer-specific contract application and the first October invoice issued under the applicable terms.

Editorial Insights

Which document should determine whether the announced increase belongs on the next invoice?
Ask for the exact grade, the contract price mechanism, any notice period, and the first invoice month affected; do not approve the increase from the supplier notice alone. Fixed-price windows, adjustment clauses, and customer-specific effective dates can produce different outcomes for the same grade family and region. The usual failure is treating “effective immediately” as permission to bypass an existing agreement.
Can the lower adjustment for E-grades be used to estimate the increase on other LCP grades?
No. Map every purchase order to its specific grade and the named product group before budgeting the change. The published schedule separates the lower-adjustment families from several grades carrying the larger increase, and individual grades may be treated above the listed amount. Using the smaller figure as a plant-wide assumption can understate conversion cost and leave the purchasing forecast short.
How should finance compare the regional increases without creating a false global benchmark?
Keep the figures in their source units and convert only for an internal budget using an approved exchange-rate and mass-conversion convention. The notice gives Asia and EMEA amounts per kilogram and Americas amounts per pound, but it provides no common base price or settlement index. A spreadsheet that ranks regions without those inputs is comparing increments, not delivered resin costs.
What evidence is needed before assigning the increase to feedstock rather than margin or freight?
Request the applicable price formula, any feedstock or surcharge reference, and the supplier’s grade-specific commercial calculation; otherwise record the stated rationale only as a supplier explanation. The notice does not disclose a feedstock contract, cost percentage, inventory position, freight bridge, or margin split. Treating the full adjustment as a verified raw-material pass-through can distort resin-cost analysis and weaken a contract challenge.
Which market data should be excluded from the LCP price calculation?
Exclude unrelated polymer indications and the supplier’s share-price movement from the settlement worksheet. They may provide context, but neither establishes the customer’s LCP price, grade exposure, or contract timing. The practical check is the first invoice against the contract and purchase-order record; if that invoice differs, escalate the grade mapping and effective-date evidence rather than substituting another resin index.

References

  1. 1.Celanese Corporation. (2026, October 16). Celanese announces LCP price increase. Yahoo Finance.
  2. 2.Investing.com. Celanese raises prices for liquid crystal polymer products. Investing.com.
  3. 3.GuruFocus. (2026, October 16). Celanese (CE) raises prices on liquid crystal polymers amid supply challenges. GuruFocus.
  4. 4.EconoTimes. Celanese stock falls 4.3% after global LCP price hikes. EconoTimes.
  5. 5.Business Wire. (2026, October 16). Celanese announces LCP price increase. Financial Times.
  6. 6.Polymerupdate. Polymer prices in the USA: PC. Polymerupdate.
  7. 7.Polymerupdate. Polymer prices in the Far East Asia: PC. Polymerupdate.
  8. 8.Polymerupdate. Polymer prices in the Middle East: PC. Polymerupdate.